Jumbo Sea Scallops with Mixed Bean Pistou over Lemony Greens

23 May

For this recipe, my inspiration was a sack of dry pinto and great northern beans that had surely overwarmed their welcome in my kitchen cabinet. I used the quick-soak method to bring them to life (Rinse beans in cold water. Put them in a large pot and cover with cold water. Bring almost to a boil , cover, and remove from heat. Let sit 1 hour. Drain. The beans will be “soaked” and ready to cook), and then I cooked them through for a little over an hour until tender and coated them in my pistou, or french-inspired pesto sauce. Scallops seemed like the perfect hearty yet light accompaniment,  and I finished the concept with some fresh and fragrant sautéed mustard and kale greens.

THE PISTOU:

(for approx 2-3 c of beans)

For my pistou I food processed:

2 cloves of garlic

1 large handful of parsley

1 large handful of  fresh basil

Hanful of cilantro

2TB EVOO

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/4 c romano

S+P to taste

Fold this herbalicious paste ino your beans until it coats them generously. Mix in about 1 /4 c diced tomato and  1/4c of diced red onion for crunch and tang. Let the beans sit and chill in the fridge while you prep the rest.

FOR SCALLOPS: Keep it simple. I patted my scallops dry and sprinkled them with a little S+P and EVOO.  I then seared them 2 minutes on each side in a HOT pan and finished them off with a squeeze of lemon.

GREENS: Lemony greens are just that. Use whatever vitamin-rich green you have on hand,  juice of 4 lemon quarters, and some S+P. That’s it. I like to stick the lemon quarters in the pan  while the greens cook. They add good flavor and are a pretty garnish.

Leave a Reply

